Glasgow Society of Lady Artists Club Collection
Material documenting the administrative history of the Glasgow Society of Lady Artists
About the Collection
The Glasgow Society of Lady Artists Club was founded in 1882, for the study and practice of painting with members annually submitting artwork for exhibition and the judgement of the public. Annual exhibitions were held to showcase the work of the members, which were frequently covered by the newspapers.
Until 1895, the club met at rooms in 136 Wellington Street. In 1895, the club had accumulated sufficient subscriptions to buy 5 Blythswood Square.
The collection is comprised of news cuttings regarding the Society and its annual exhibitions, which proved popular and often prompted growth in membership numbers. In addition, there are several stock books which detail artwork shown in craft shows. Club and council minutes, a list of members, and visitor books are also included.
Members included Janet Aitken, Katharine Cameron, Stansmore Dean Stevenson, de Courcy Lewthwaite Dewar, Georgina Greenlees, Jessie Keppie, Jessie M. King, Ann Macbeth and Jessie Newbery.
List of Glasgow Society of Lady Artists members, researched and compiled by Karen Mailley-Watt (PDF, 79kb).
Brownrigg, Jenny. "The ladies would seem to have turned their attention: tracing the founding members' of Glasgow Society of Lady Artists" (PDF 140kb)
We welcome feedback from library users.
Contact us to let us know how we are doing or if you want to find out more.